DR sets Ebola travel ban
Share this on

DR sets Ebola travel ban

The Dominican Republic has joined a group of Caribbean countries in restricting travelers from West African nations dealing with Ebola outbreaks.

Dominican Health Minister Altagracia Guzmán says the ban applies to travelers who have been in those countries in the past 30 days. She announced Tuesday that authorities will remain vigilant at airports, seaports and the border it shares with Haiti.

There are no direct flights between the Dominican Republic and any African country.

Jamaica, Guyana, St. Lucia and Trinidad & Tobago have announced similar travel restrictions.

The Ebola outbreak in West Africa has already killed more than 4,500 people, mostly in Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone since it emerged 10 months ago.

Associated Press

Photo: Shutterstock